rss Subscribe to this page

Feb. 9, 2013 at 9:54am Caldecott winning books

The 2013 Caldecott winning books have been announced. Many people consider this to be the top literary prize for illustrated children's books in America. One thing is for certain, these prize winning books make for great reading with the little ones in your life. So take a moment and check out these books at your favorite library!

The 2013 Caldecott Medal winner is This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, published by Candlewick Press.

What are the consequences when a little fish steals the hat from a big fish? In this darkly, humorous tale, follow the little fish as he contemplates his action while admiring his new hat, that fits perfectly.

2013 Honor Books:

Creepy Carrots!, illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds and published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division. *** When this book first arrived at the library last fall, my son and I loved it so much we had to share it with his first grade class!

Extra Yarn, illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett and published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers. *** A selfish archduke threatens to halt a little girl's transformation of a colorless town and steal her box of magical yarn.

Green, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger and published by Neal Porter Books, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press. *** Take a new look at the multiple meanings of "green."

One Cool Friend, illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo and published by Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group. *** A rollicking tale of Father, Elliot and a highly improbable pet (or two).

Sleep Like a Tiger, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue and published by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. *** An imaginative dialogue between a not-at-all sleepy child and her understanding parents.

A list of past Caldecott winning books (1938 to the present) can be found at

Add your comment below

Leave a Comment




Comment: * No HTML, http:// will auto-link

* required
Comment Guidelines