Common License Questions
I would like to start a business. What do I need to do?
You will need to contact the Washington State Department of Licensing for your state licensing requirements. This department will register your business name. You may contact them at 253-382-2000 or visit their website at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/
You will also need to determine if you are located within the city limits or reside within Pierce County, and then contact the appropriate jurisdiction for your local license.
I want to start a small business out of my home. Do I need a license?
All businesses operating within the city limits are required to be licensed by the city. You will also need to complete a homeoccupation questionairre. This questionairre will be reviewed by the planning department to ensure compliance with city standards. For additional information regarding home occupation dos and don'ts contact Kendall Wals at 253-841-5462.
I am a contractor doing business in Puyallup. How do I get my license?
Anytime you do business with, or in, the city of Puyallup a business license is necessary. You may click on these links for the appropriate forms.
Business License Application Fee schedule .
I am a subcontractor. Do I need a license?
Each business must have their own license.
How long will it take for my license to be issued?
Licenses are typically issued 14 days after submission to the city.
How long is my license good for?
The licensing year runs January 1st through December 31st.
How will I know when to renew my license?
Renewal forms are mailed out the first week of November with payment due by December 31st. The city allows for a thirty day grace period before assessing penalties.
I recently sold my business. Do I need to notify you?
Yes. Business licenses are not transferable.
I recently moved my business. Do I need to notify you of this change?
Licenses are issued by address only. Because of building, fire, and planning regulations business licenses are not transferable.
I will be closing my business. Do I need to notify you?
Notification to the city allows us to update the business license database indicating the status of your business. This will help in avoiding future unnessary mail correspondence.
I recently opened a second business location. Do I need to notify you?
Yes. Licenses are issued by location and a separate license is required for each location.
Does Puyallup have a B & O Tax?
I want to have a parking lot sale. Do I need to apply for a permit?
Sales in parking lots are classified as temporary sales and the applicant will need to complete a temporary stand application. These applications are reviewed by the Planning Department and the Central Pierce Fire & Rescue Fire Marshal for compliance with regulations.
How long can I operate a temporary stand?
Temporary stands are allowed for a period of up to 30 days per year per site.
Where can I set up my temporary stand?
Temporary stands may only be located on commercially zoned property, except during the fall fair.
I want to operate a stand outside the fairgrounds during the fair. Do I need a license?
Yes. All vendors need to submit a temporary stand application. The deadline for applications for the September Washington State Fair is August 31st.
I want to have a stand inside the fairgrounds during the Puyallup Fair. Do I need a license?
No, not if your stand is located inside the fairgrounds. You may visit their website at www.thefair.com, or call (253) 845-1771 for more information.
I want to park cars on my property during the fair. Do I need a license?
If you park 15 or more cars at a time you will need to apply for a Special License for Fair Parking. The cost is $37.50.
I want to have a stand at the Farmer's Market. Do I need a license?
No. The Farmer's Market is managed by the Main Street Association. Information regarding this activity is available through their website at www.puyallupmainstreet.com or by calling (253) 840-2631.
I want to have a stand at Meeker Days. Do I need a license?
No. The Main Street Association also manages the Meeker Days Festival. Information regarding this activity is available through their website at www.puyallupmainstreet.com or by calling (253) 840-2631.
I want to sell food/ice cream from my vehicle. Do I need a license?
Mobile food sales requires a Mobile Food Vendor License. This license takes approximately ten working days to process and requires a background check. The cost is $50.00 per calendar year. All Mobile Food Vendor Licenses expire on December 31st.
I want to go door-to-door selling merchandise. Do I need a license?
Door to door sales requires a Solicitor's License. This license takes approximately ten working days to process and requires a background check. The cost is $50.00 per year. All solicitor's licenses expire on December 31st.
I have a group of individuals that I would like to go door-to-door selling for me. Do I need a license?
Individual companies are not required to be licensed: however, each company representative who intends to sell within the city limits will need to obtain a Solicitor's License.
I want to pass out flyers or samples. Do I need to apply for a permit?
Yes. This type of activity requires a a Bill Poster/Sample Distributor License. The fee is $10.00 per day (per person) and takes 24-48 hours to process.
I want to have a garage sale. Do I need a permit?
No, but garage sales are limited to 4 weekends per year.
I make arts & crafts type items at home for sale at the Crafters' Mall, bazaars, etc.. Do I need a business license?
No, as long as you have no retail sales from your home.